Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. ~Mark Twain, Pudd’nhead Wilson, 1894

I have never read the book that the above quote came from. However, I think it is most definitely a good quote from a great writer. I hope to one day become a great writer, so that lines from my books can be taken and pasted on to someone’s blog to open their post.

Being a writer, is one of my actual life goals. To be a writer is, to me, one of the highest stations in life. It is different from other careers because it requires you to think about someone else constantly. That is not to say that doctors do not think about their patients or lawyers about their clients, or shopkeepers about their patrons. What I am trying to say is that there is nothing more life changing than a book. In addition, not just any book, a good book a novel, a story about people who never ever existed is something that changes lives on a daily basis. This is not to say that self-help books do not have their place, but if you really need to see the need to go out and find adventure, all you really need to do is go read Huck Finn or Tom Sawyer.

Not only because of my interest in writing am I completing this task, but also my love of books and film. Not just my love of good film, but also my love of films so bad they should be considered C rated rather than the traditional B-rated title. I love film because it has the same life changing capacity as do novels. A good director can really flesh out a story, sometimes taking a mediocre book and making it into an awe-inspiring film. Of course, it is very rare that things like that happen, so do not hold your breath for the Tarantino Directed version of Twilight: Eclipse that shocks your pants off, that will likely never ever happen but given the oddity of Hollywood, I’d give it some probability.

What I am attempting to do within the next Year is to watch the 122 films that were part of both the original American Film Institute 100 greatest films list and the 10th Anniversary Greatest films list. The first five movies I plan to watch are as follows:

RANK

TITLE

DIRECTOR

122

Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner

Stanley Kramer

121

A Place in the Sun

George Stevens

120

My Fair Lady

George Cukor

119

The Jazz Singer

Alan Crosland

118

Patton

Franklin J. Schaffner

 

I do not know how long it will take me to watch these five movies. I think I figured that if I would have to watch roughly two movies a week in order to accomplish my task. I think that is a possibility.

 

Therefore, with any luck, I will be able to track down “Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner” and watch it along with “A Place in the Sun” in the next 7 days. With some thanks to my Netflix subscription, I should be able to accomplish this. Luckily, “Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner” is on Instant View availability on Netflix. I will have to wait for “A place in the sun” to come via USPS.

 

Thanks for Reading.

In addition, if anyone knows how to put my Netflix queue on a widget send me an email at Jenniferthewriter@hotmail.com

