Check out 10 questions to help you write better headlines | Poynter., for some interesting tips about how to write better headlines for your blog and other articles.

Headlines are important and I have tons of headaches about headlines. When I was in university, I used to turn in all my papers with titles like the following:

Paper 1

Rhetoric Essay

Final Paper on Gang English

Yes, I have no idea how to write titles for essays or anything else for that matter. Thankfully, I came across this. Enjoy.

Quicklist of 10 questions to ask while writing a headline:

  1. Is the headline accurate?
  2. Does it work out of context?
  3. How compelling a promise does it make?
  4. How easy is it to parse?
  5. Could it benefit from a number?
  6. Are all the words necessary?
  7. Does it obey the Proper Noun Rule?
  8. Would it work better as an explanatory headline?
  9. Does it focus on events or implications?
  10. Could it benefit from one of these 10 words? Top, Why, How, Will, New, Secret, Future, Your, Best, Worst.
